I`m On My Way (Sitting, by Cat Stevens)

I recently posted the lyrics to the song “Sitting”, by Cat Stevens.  One of my readers asked the question : what is the meaning for you in these words?  Thank you “irishkatie” for asking the question.

When I was just a young thing.. I became enthralled by Cat Stevens; thanks to my older sister who played guitar, listened to, and played Cat all day long.  She influenced my choice of music to a huge extent.  She would strum on her guitar and sing “Wild World”, “Where Do The Children Play”, “My Lady D’Arbanville, “How Can I Tell You”, and so many more.  For many years, she would sit at the end of my bed and play her guitar and sing to me and my sister.  We loved it.  There were never any complaints.  But the sound and words of Cat Stevens grew and grew in my mind.  Especially, the words.  I don’t think Cat Stevens could have had a better fan.

Later, when I became a teenager, Cat became the love of my life.  His images were posted all over my bedroom walls.  I dreamed of him and lived and breathed his very essence.  I felt that I knew who and what he was all about.  But the love didn’t stop there.  It continued as I matured.  The song “Sitting” remains one of my favourites to this day, although I have many.

Many years ago I attended two of his concents, one in Ottawa and one in Montreal, and the moment he sat at his black baby grand piano and played “Sitting” was always the best moment for me.  I always loved the song, but I don’t think I fully appreciated it until now.

I now think I truly understand the meaning of that song, and why it has such an impact on me at this point in my life.

I have come such a long way over the last few years due to various challenges in my life.   I have grown by leaps and bounds.  I feel the power growing in my hair, as Cat would say.  And it`s a good thing.  A great thing, actually.  Cat Stevens chose a different route in his personal growth.  Something different from what he referred to in this song.  But he’s allowed.  We all have the right to choose our own path in life and choice is the one thing that we truly own.   I may be an agnostic in my beliefs, but I nonetheless respect the religious values of others.  He was seeking something that he needed and when he found it, he embraced it.  I can respect that.

Still, the words to that song ring true and meaningful to me.  They remind me that we have to find our own way, no matter how difficult or how lonely the journey may be.  And that we will see the light, not when we are fighting tooth and nail for it, but when we are able to open ourselves up and allow it to shine through us.

We all only have one life to live, and we better find a way to make our occupation of that bit of space in time worth it.  Whatever that might mean for each of us.

This entry was posted in Abraham Maslow, Personal Growth, Psychology, Self-Actualization, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I`m On My Way (Sitting, by Cat Stevens)

  1. irishkatie says:

    I LOVED this follow up post. I actually have a Cat Steven’s CD that I am putting in the player as I write this! (OK..I meant, I put it in in the middle of reading your blog…so as I write it is play. I love “Why do the children play ..aaa hay aaaa aaa” Feck…my singing would make you think of a cat caterwauling!)

    Seriously again though … what struck me on this post, that I can imagine in my head, is that of your sister singing …oh lord…that makes me feel good.

    • lthibault11 says:

      Thanks irishkatie, I also love that song. I never get tired of it, or any of his other songs for that matter. They still sound current to me, even though they are a few years old..

      L

  2. Zen Greenway says:

    Music has always been crucial to my perception of the world. I find that as I get older, my perspective on my favorite music changes and I understand things that went over my head as a younger person. Or maybe I should say the music resonates differently, since what a song meant to me as a child is just as valid as what it means to me now. I’ve also noticed that some songwriters keep pace with me, getting older and changing as I do (Tori Amos springs readily to mind). So now I’m going to have to listen to Cat Stevens! You’re interpretation of Sitting is beautiful and I’m curious to hear the actual song.

    • lthibault11 says:

      I love the piano in Sitting. Cat Stevens had many talents and playing the piano beautifully was one of them. I find that as I go through life and grow and change, I am really not the same person I was back then, or even just a couple of years ago for that matter. Like you, as I listen to the lyrics of songs now, I have a very different perspective. It`s fun to discover new meaning in music you have listened to for years. The Youtube video of Sitting unfortunately is just the song with no video. Too bad as he was just as compelling to look at, as he was to listen to…lol

  3. Teri Sugai says:

    I grew up listening, singing, playing the music of Cat Stevens. Almost 40 years later, I find myself drawn back to that very same music. Sitting is also one of my favorites. All throughout life, we strive to find our own truth, this song has more meaning to me now in my 50’s, then it did when I was 16.

Leave a Reply

